world cup 2010 – not a year for europe perhaps?

History has it that in 18 previous editions of the World Cups, no European team had won the trophy in the 8 times it was hosted outside the continent, whilst being runners-up 6 times. Bad omen? Pumpkin

Year Hosts Winners Runners-Up
1930 Uruguay Uruguay Argentina
1950 Brazil Uruguay Brazil
1962 Chile Brazil Czechoslovakia
1970 Mexico Brazil Italy
1978 Argentina Argentina Netherlands
1986 Mexico Argentina West Germany
1994 USA Brazil Italy
2002 Japan/South Korea Brazil Germany
2010 South Africa ??? ???

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails